Hallmark of Labour Foundation 22nd Anniversary and Role Model Awards 2018


It was a glorious evening on Sunday, September 23, 2018 when Hallmarks of Labour Foundation [HLF] brought together distinguished Nigerians from all works of life, to celebrate nine great Nigerians who by dint of hard-work and moral uprightness have implanted their foot-prints on the sands of time. They are men and women whose achievements have become shining examples for the younger generation to emulate. The occasion was the celebration of the Foundation’s 22nd Anniversary and Great Nigerian Role Model Awards.

In his welcome address, Vice Chairman of the Foundation, Dr Christopher Kolade, congratulated the awardees and thanked them for being such worthy examples for our younger generation to emulate. In his words, “Being here to witness this great event tonight is proof that Nigeria has plenty to celebrate, these are men and women who have put their footprints on the sands of time for which the whole World can be proud of. Indeed, our Foundation is proud to have the privilege of celebrating their achievement tonight”.

The Chairman of the Occasion, Professor Ibrahim Gambari congratulated the board of trustees for their ability to sustain the great work of the foundation for twenty two years, and more importantly for keeping to the tradition of honouring great people, the best and the brightest in our society. This shows clearly that the members of the board of trustees are truly committed to the aims and objectives of the Foundation. I salute them! Professor Gambari concluded by saying “Indeed, by honouring the achievement of these great men and women, we are celebrating Nigeria and humanity in general”.

Dr Christopher Kolade, CON, Vice Chairman HLF Board of Trustees,

Professor Ibrahim Gambari, CFR Chairman, HLF 22nd Anniversary/Great Nigerian Awards 2018

A cross Section of guests at the HLF 22nd Anniversary 2018


Nine great Nigerians were presented with the Hallmarks of Labour Role Model award (HLR), under the following categories:

CATEGORIES                                                      WINNERS

HLF LIFE-TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD                      Hon. Justice Adolphus Karibi-Whyte

For Exemplary/ Courageous Service to                                   

the Advancement of our Legal System                                    

HLF LIFE-TIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD                      Hon. Justice Isa Ayo Salami                                                             

For Exemplary/ Courageous Service to                                   

the Advancement of our Legal System                                    

HLF ROLE MODEL AWARD                                               Professor Bolaji Akinyemi

For Outstanding Contributions to

Nigeria’s International Relations  

HLF-EMEKA ANYAOKU                                                 Professor Joy Uche Ogwu


To Nigeria’s Most Outstanding

International Icon


HLF ROLE MODEL AWARD                                               Chief Dr. Onikepo Akande

For Outstanding Contributions to                                             

Corporate Governance

HLF-UMARU SHEHU LIFE-TIME                                     Professor Shehu Galadanci


For Consistent Advocacy for Positive

Change within the University System

HLF ROLE MODEL AWARD                                             Professor Ayodeji Banjo

For Outstanding Contributions to                                                  

the Field of Education.


HLF ROLE MODEL AWARD                                            Professor Olukayode Oyediran

For Outstanding Contributions in                                            

the Field of Medicine.                                                                   


HLF ROLE MODEL AWARD                                            Professor Uche Amazigo   

For Outstanding Contributions to                                            

the Field of Public Health.    


HLF YOUNG ACHEIVERS AWARD                                      Christ the King Catholic College

For Best-Performing School in the WASSCE, 2017                  ,Odolewu, Ijebu-ode, Ogun State




HLF Young Achievers’ Awards For the Best-Performing School IN WASSCE, 2017–Christ the King Catholic College, Odolewu, Ijebu-ode, Ogun STATE.

In line with our main objective, to nurture confident youths positioned to lead the change for a greater Nigeria; the Foundation continues to recognize outstanding young Nigerian achievers and institutions. The purpose of this exercise is to promote excellence, hard work and healthy rivalry within our schools Nationwide. Christ the King Catholic College, Odolewu, Ijebu-ode, Ogun State, received the foundations donation of eight desktop computers complete with accessories, for emerging as Nigeria’s overall best performing school in the WASSCE 2017.  

The Special Guest of Honour, Minister for Science and Technology, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, also donated a science kit to the school in support of the Foundation’s efforts and in recognition of the schools excellent performance in their examination, adding that such gestures will encourage the pupils to work harder. He concluded by congratulating the awardees and the Executive Secretary of the Foundation, Mrs Patricia Otuedon-Arawore for the great work they are doing in the nation.



Best-Performing School in the WASSCE 2017, Christ the King Catholic College receiving their plaque from HE Dr Ogbonnaya Onu while Chief Patricia Arawore,  Professor Ibrahim Gambari and Dr Kolade watches on

Principal, Christ the King Catholic College, Reverend Father Peter Onabamiro responds